Skip to content

Curry (and Dal) in a Hurry

March 30, 2010

I’ve been on an Indian kick since our trip to England and I’ve added a few go-to recipes to my repertoire. Even better, you can make the bases ahead of time, pop them in the freezer and defrost for a lazy Monday dinner.

Curry Base Sauce An hour simmering on the stove and you’ve got three containers of sauce for three different dinners. Pictured: the chicken pathia from the same blog. I skipped the red coloring (ew!) and used just one chicken breast. I also used the sauce with shrimp using this recipe as a starting point I sauteed a sliced onion, two chilies and the shrimp then added the curry base. And finally, vegetable curry.

In my Indian food frenzy I bought about two pounds of red lentils at the co-op, then found an even better deal online (yeah prime shipping!) and decided I should buy some more. So, I have about 8 pounds of red lentils in my cupboard now. Good thing this garlicky red lentil dal is so good and freezes well. I added some fried tofu. It also makes a good dip if you simmer it until thick.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 11:18 am

    wow B! These recipes sound and look so delicious. I am definitely going to have to give these a try. Freezer-ready food for me anyway, no one else in this house will eat curry. Do you have a good method for making the fried tofu? What great photos – I might be pursuaded to cook again. Presently, I’m obsessed with gardening and nothing is mature enough to eat. Though I did buy two different packs of microgreen seeds yesterday. It’s a super-quick crop though admittedly not very filling.

  2. blythe84 permalink*
    April 1, 2010 11:54 am

    Thanks H! So here is my tofu frying method, it’s not particularly advanced (I don’t flour before frying) but the outside does get crunchy which is what I like. So, slice a block of tofu into 3-4 slabs, press each between a paper towel. Then cut the tofu into cubes about 1/2-3/4″. We use half a block (7 oz?) for curry, stir fry etc. Heat 2-3 tablespoons of oil in a pan on medium heat. When a cube sizzles on contact it’s hot enough. Throw it all in and stir frequently. I think the key is to keep the heat low enough that the tofu doesn’t burn before it gets browned. It takes a while so you have to be patient and stir often. Once it’s uniformly brown (10-15 minutes? one glass of wine?) I fish out the tofu and put on a paper towel. Sprinkle with salt right away and voila.

Leave a Reply

