Skip to content

Curried Spinach and Pea Soup

October 28, 2009

veganmofoPICT0974

from Moosewood Restaurant New Classics by the Moosewood Collective, find it online here

I finally bought a hand blender. My love of soup has certainly grown this month and I’ve gotten tired of injuring myself in the process of transferring soup from pot to blender and back again. I searched for hand blenders and discovered that they are cheap! Ridiculously affordable! I bought this model for $13 on Amazon. The day it arrived I knew I had to make soup and I finally hit upon this recipe which starts with a solid base of diced potatoes and whole cloves of garlic to which you add sauteed onions and lots of spices. Nearly a pound of peas and four very packed cups of spinach adds a hearty dose of green and a can of lite coconut milk brings the flavors together and adds a smooth, creamy touch. The end product is quite thick (I like that the hand blender leaves it uniformly textured) so you might want to try thinning it with a bit of stock. If you get tired of eating it as soup I think you could simmer down a cup or two and use it as a sauce over rice. I’m also thinking about trying it with cauliflower instead of potatoes or omitting the potatoes altogether.

No comments yet

Leave a comment