Skip to content

Miso Soup

October 9, 2009

veganmofo

misosoup

To conclude my week of soups, how about soup for breakfast? Last Saturday the temperature dipped below freezing for the first time this fall and I shivered my way to the farmers market. It takes some time to adjust to cold weather; to remember to bring mittens and wrap a scarf around your neck before you leave the house. I was unprepared for the cold snap and by the time I got home I was feeling sorely abused by mother nature. The solution to my winter woes? Soup of course. I brought two cups of water to a boil, added sliced swiss chard fresh from the market and finely diced cubes of tofu. I took the pot off the heat and covered it. Four minutes later I lifted the lid, whisked two heaping tablespoons of brown rice miso in and began to slurp my way towards warmth. For more ideas on miso soup check out 101 Cookbooks or the New York Times.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

