Skip to content

Pasta: The Great Uniter

October 2, 2009

3930562108_f07c8dec17

freshsauce

Last night was a bit hectic. There was the trip to the vet with a very uncooperative cat, then a grocery store run to replenish our empty cabinets, and then dinner. What to have for dinner? My idea was shot down and C decided to make pasta. “No butter please,” I requested (he can sneak it into anything). He obliged and whipped up this tasty sauce (rough recipe below). C isn’t about to go vegan (but is cool with the tofu) and it has been a worry for me how we can keep having enjoyable dinners together while respecting each other’s dietary habits. I think pasta may be the answer, or at least one solution. It’s quick for nights when we’re both starving and very adaptable since anything can be added to the pasta once cooked (his and hers alfredo and marinara for example). I wonder what tricks other couples and families have to accommodate everyone at the table.

Fresh Tomato Sauce

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic minced
  • 6 Roma tomatoes diced
  • black pepper, heavy pinch
  • salt to taste
  • pinch of oregano
  • a few sprigs of basil
  • 8 oz. spaghetti

While water is boiling, heat a pan with 3 tbsp oil. Add yellow onion and cook until soft, add garlic and cook until aromatic (3o seconds or so), throw in diced tomatoes, cook until soft and broken down. Check pasta for doneness. Add salt, pepper and herbs to taste. Serve and enjoy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 8:45 pm

    Both my hubby and I are vegan but the majority of our family and friends are not. I make vegan dishes with a side of animal protein for the omnivores when we have company. So far everyone has been fine with that solution and all I need to do is add one animal protein dish to meals I would normally make for us. Our one vegan friend has an omni husband and he eats vegan at home and then whatever he wants when he is out of the house.

    Alicia

  2. October 3, 2009 6:30 am

    I am quite lucky – I live with my parents and brother and they are all completely happy to eat vegan when I am cooking for them. Which is most of the time. They still eat omni on the days I am not home. Perhaps one way it could be approached is to have vegan components (pasta, salad, vegetables, etc) and then you could have some marinated baked tofu or cutlets and he could have his meat on the side if he must?
    I hope the kitty is OK!

Leave a Reply

