Skip to content

LABOR day

September 2, 2008

This weekend C’s parents came down for a visit and on Saturday morning C and his dad went out and got two loads of firewood and stacked it neatly in our lean-to. I suppose it’s a man thing, but C was pleased and proud. I felt the same way on Monday as I lined up my foil wrapped packages for a photo op. I had Labor Day off and I decided for a holiday project to cook, a lot. I found a collection of freezable recipes on marthastewart.com and went at it from about 5:30 am to 2 pm when I scrubbed the last counter (relatively) clean.

But was all the effort worth it? Let me tell you, this evening was a revelation. First of all, there was no worrying the last hour of work about what could be thrown together. I got home, nuked some frozen enchilada sauce and preheated the oven. C and I talked about our day, lamented the state of politics, and had a drink. The enchiladas baked and when they were done we ate them, I put our two plates and two forks in the dishwasher and recycled the disposable baking pan. That was it. I may now have enough time to take over the world…or have another glass of wine and watch two episodes of Mad Men. I’m thinking about acquiring a chest freezer now, with enough freezer space I’ll only have to cook once every 3 months! Woohahaha

  1. Mini Meatballs
  2. Basil Pesto
  3. Bean Burritos
  4. Vegetable Enchiladas
  5. Lasagna Primavera
  6. Pastitsio
  7. Taco Filling
  8. Spinach Pie
  9. Pizza Dough
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

