Skip to content

Penne alla Vodka

April 27, 2008

It smelled like a hard night of partying as it simmered but it tasted significantly better. I don’t have any particularly bad memories of vodka consumption but it still turns my stomach, mostly because it smells like something that should never be consumed and instead used to clean grease off auto parts.

All that being said, it still intrigued me when I stumbled upon it on SmittenKitchen‘s blog despite it being a Rachel Ray recipe, first seen on Oprah and titled “You Won’t Be Single For Long Vodka Cream Pasta.”

Rating: maybe I’ll try a different version

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2008 5:38 pm

    C. and I just watched an Amer. Test Kitchen episode where they made this dish. Getting the recipe from the website requires the membership or whatever hoop they make you jump through, but C. and I both thought the pasta looked delicious.

  2. blythe84 permalink*
    May 10, 2008 7:51 am

    Isn’t it frustrating that they require a membership? Recipes just want to be free! I’ve found that by googling “desired recipe”+”Cooks Illustrated” I can often find the recipe I’m after posted on a cooking blog. It worked successfully for the strawberry cream cake, shrimp pasta diablo and after your tip, penne alla vodka. Take that membership only!

  3. June 2, 2008 1:46 am

    fantastic tip! It worked like a charm. Thanks B.

Leave a Reply

