Skip to content

Alsatian Onion Tart

April 20, 2008

On Sunday afternoons I often get the urge to bake or cook or just do something in the kitchen besides dishes. The weekend has slowed down to a crawl and around 3 or 4 in the afternoon I know it’s too early for dinner but I just want to be in the kitchen. I’m also getting thirsty for a glass of wine. This recipe satisfied both needs and I ended up with a pre-dinner nosh that ended up being dinner.

It sounds weird but I have thought about cooking an onion tart for at least two years. The idea of a rich and creamy onion pastry with a glass of cold white wine has always sounded appetizing. It sort of disappointed though and with just two of us to eat it the leftovers looked positively depressing all gummy and cold for lunch on Monday (I’ve honestly thought about having a child just to eat leftovers so I don’t have to).

The thing is, it was too rich. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about butter but perhaps even greater than my love of butter is my love of yeasty, chewy bread and so perhaps I’ll try it again someday but with a pizza dough and perhaps grilled with the onion mixture reworked somewhat. The crust was delicious though. The crumb was so fine and it broke so delicately. I’ll definitely be using Martha’s recipe for pate brisee again at some point, perhaps involving rhubarb this spring…

Rating: Meh

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

